Our Help

“Are you going to be a good boy, today?” I asked my six-year old as we were waiting in the drop-off line before school. 

“Yep,” he replied. 

“Do we need to pray and ask God to help you make good choices?” I asked.

“No,” he answered. 

“You know, God can help you, don’t you?” I asked. 

“Yeah,” he responded, “but does sometimes He forget?” 

I patted his little head and said, “No, sometimes you forget.”

How very true!  Again and again, we forget that God is our help.  Even more, we forget that we need God’s help. 

Day in and day out, we get out of bed, go to our workplaces and schools, fulfill our obligations and duties, complete our daily chores, have conversations, buy groceries, prepare and eat meals, go to the gas station, update our statuses on our favorite social networks and get back into bed for the rest needed to start it all over the next day.  We follow our daily routines on autopilot – we know what needs to be done; we know how to get it done and we won’t stop until it is done. 

We live with the misconception that we are solely capable of handling day-to-day matters on our own, and we declare to God, whether consciously or unconsciously, that we don’t need His help.  We rely on our own strength, intelligence and abilities.  We say to ourselves, “I’ve got this,” and then we wonder at the end of the day why we ran that red light, why we misbehaved in class or why we said those ugly words to that co-worker.

Eventually, we realize that we cannot handle life on our own.  Unfortunately, our realization usually comes when it is too late and we’ve already created a big mess of things.  Oh, how desperately we need God’s help – not just for the major difficulties in our lives but in every detail, big and small.

God longs to walk with you through your day.  He wants to guide your steps, guard your heart and grace your mind with His peace.  Will you invite Him to be your help each day?  Will you admit your need for Him?  Truly, we can do nothing without Him.  Trust Him with every minute, every breath, every word, every step and every detail of your day before it is even begun.  Don’t wait until the damage caused by your independence is already done.  Take Him at His word – let God hold your hand and be your help.

Isaiah 41:13
For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

Psalm 119:147
I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word.

Psalm 146:5
Blessed are those whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the LORD their God.

Deuteronomy 33:26
“There is no one like the God of Jeshurun, who rides across the heavens to help you and on the clouds in his majesty.

Psalm 28:7
The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.  My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

Psalm 54:4
Surely God is my help; the Lord is the one who sustains me.

Leave a Reply

