Plan B

I’m a “Plan A” kind of person.  I spend hours, days, weeks and more preparing, organizing and lining up every detail so that Plan A will come off without a hitch.  After all, Plan A is the best plan so why settle for anything less?  And just as one of my college friends recently posted on his Facebook wall, I simply don’t have time to develop a Plan B.  But the reality is there are times when Plan B is necessary like when the church is hosting a Family Fun Night filled with all kinds of outdoor activities for the kids and the weatherman is calling for rain. That is exactly where I found myself the other day.

What were we going to do?  The bouncy houses had already been reserved.  The cotton candy, popcorn and snow cone machines were ready to go and the children were anticipating a fun evening outdoors.  But the weather radar was filled with green, yellow and red blobs and those blobs were heading our way.  I had an indoor game that we could play that would involve children, youth and adults.  And the cotton candy, popcorn and snow cones would be just as good inside as they would outside but Plan A – that is what I wanted to do.  I prayed for God to hold back the rains, at least until after our fun night.  I refused to look at the radar even though our youth minister kept giving me updates.  I simply did not want to go to Plan B but God had other plans.  Those colorful blobs from the radar stayed their course and the rains did come.

So, we played the craziest, most chaotic game we could play in a church dining hall and we ate snow cones, popcorn and cotton candy.  Though the evening began with a little disappointment, it ended with excitement, exhaustion and even a bit of amazement.  Plan B worked and we all had a great time.  How do I know?  It was the hug I received at the end of the night just before a little boy was leaving and the words that made Plan B all worthwhile – “Bye, Ms. Karen.  I had fun with you tonight.”  Yeah.  I’m thinking my Plan B was God’s Plan A all along!

One thought on “Plan B

  1. All of my kids had a good time. Scott said he didn’t know what to do but once they finally caught on, they had a blast. Alyssa said she got wrapped in TP 5 times by 5 different people. LOL. God is good….

Leave a Reply

