Soapboxes and Servants

Sometimes I stand on my soapbox.  Sometimes I climb even further and sit on my high horse.  I like it from up there.  I can see much more clearly in that position.  I can think without the distractions of the opinions of others.  I can make my declarations without interruption from those standing below.  I can feel satisfied and proud of myself for standing up, for saying what I believe, for spreading the message of truth and what is right (at least, what I think is truth and what is right).

Yes, I can stand on my soapbox and sit on my high horse because it’s the easy thing to do.  In fact, we all can do what is easy.  It’s the difficult that gives us problems.  It’s those things we know we should do, such as walking in the steps of Jesus, that we find so hard.  For His steps may lead us to the houses of sinners or require us to love the unlovable.  Jesus’ steps may direct us to wash the feet of our brothers and sisters in Christ, to serve our neighbors or to forgive our enemies.  The steps of Jesus may even require us to rethink our definitions of truth and re-evaluate what we believe is right.

Certainly, to follow in our Savior’s steps is no easy task but I can’t help but think that we make it harder than it should be.  You see, it’s tough to be a servant from the lofty heights on which we choose to stand.  And it’s difficult to share our Savior’s love while clinging to the reigns of our pride.  It appears it would be easier to follow in the steps of Jesus if we were a bit closer to the ground.

Oh, Lord, forgive me for climbing atop my soapbox and for mounting that high horse in times when You want me to deny myself, swallow my pride and simply serve others.  I want to follow in your steps.  So make me a servant, dear Lord.  May my words and my actions exalt only You.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

