A Storm, a Song and a Good Father

There it is, again! That annoying song! You can’t get it out of your head no matter how hard you try. You watch TV. You read a book. You listen to every other song in the world. You even bang your head on the wall a few times but nothing works! THAT SONG keeps playing over and over again in your mind. Aaaaaaagh!!!

Have you ever been there? I certainly have and the songs that usually “get stuck” in my mind are those annoying cartoon theme songs. You know, like the one about the yellow square sponge – yeah, that’s it. Don’t start singing it! Oh, it’s too late! The mind numbing loop of musical misery has already begun. Thanks.

Having a song play over and over again in your head is not always bad, though. There are times when I’ve been grateful for a song that came to mind. One of those times happened a few nights ago. A huge and frightening storm system swept through our area in the wee hours of the morning. The winds were howling. The thunder was rumbling. The lightning was crackling and the rains were pounding. Did I mention this storm was huge? And frightening?

For a while I wandered through the house. There was no way I could sleep through all of that ruckus.   Soon, however, I decided that sleep was a good thing and I really did need it in order to function the next morning. So I went back to bed. As I lay in the dark listening to the winds rip through the many pine trees in my yard, I began to pray and the words of a sweet song filled my mind. “You’re a good, good Father – It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are,” began the serenade. “And I’m loved by you – It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am.”1  On and on the song played stealing my attention from the frightening winds and rains and filling me with a peace that allowed me to drift to sleep.

“Beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!” A weather alert jolted me out of my slumber. Although I was filled with peace, there was still a huge and frightening storm knocking at my door. And this storm was not going to be ignored. I reached for my phone to discover what danger was headed my way, and another song bombarded my thoughts. “It’s not over yet, It’s not over ye-et,”2 it taunted. For the next couple of hours until the storm finally passed, weather alerts blared one after the other and each “Beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!” was accompanied by an overture of “It’s not over yet, It’s not over ye-et.” Now, THAT is annoying.

The next morning, I was sitting at my desk at work. The rains had stopped and the clouds had cleared. As a ray of sunshine peaked through my office window, a song from my childhood quickly came to mind: “Look! The sun – it dried up the land-y, land-y – Everything was fine and dandy, dandy.”3 I couldn’t help but smile.

Are there any storms raging in your life today?  No, I’m not talking about the ones that come with thunder and lightning. I’m talking about the ones that come with fights or disappointments or bad news or financial struggles or hospital visits. Are you wandering around in worry? Are you trying to hide yourself away from the pain? Why don’t you borrow the song that helped me through my storm? “You’re a good, good Father – It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are – And I’m loved by you – It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am.” You have a Good Father who loves you. He can calm the storms of your life and fill you with a peace that passes all understanding – if you’ll let Him.

Don’t get me wrong. The storms will keep knocking at your door. Fear and worry will constantly distract you telling you that your struggles are “not over yet” but your storm will pass. When it does, joy will come shining through like the morning sun and you will be able to smile and sing, “Everything is fine and dandy.”

 

1 “Good, Good Father” written by Pat Barrett and Anthony Brown, made popular by Chris Tomlin

2 “It’s Not Over Yet” written by Luke Smallbone, Joel Smallbone, Ben Glover, Ted Tjomhom and Kyle Rector, made popular by for King & Country

3 “Rise and Shine” Unknown

 

 

Leave a Reply

