Bless Me!

Achoo!  My little boy sneezed in the car one morning as we were headed to school.  I, of course, immediately said, “Bless you!”

A few minutes later, it was my turn to sneeze.  (Those pesky sneezes always seem to travel!Achoo!

Then there was silence.

“You know,” I said to my son.  “It’s nice to say, ‘Bless you’ when you hear someone sneeze.”

“Sorry,” he sheepishly replied.

Quickly, I assured him that I wasn’t scolding but only explaining that saying “Bless you” is a way to tell someone you want God to bless a person.

“Oh,” he piped, “so next time I sneeze, I’ll just say ‘Bless ME’!”

“Bless ME!”  I laughed at my son’s little quip but couldn’t help but wonder how often I say these words.  No, no.  Not after sneezing but in my day-to-day life.  What is my attitude as I go throughout my day?  Am I seeking out blessings from others or am I seeking out others to bless?  Unh. That smarts.

Then, there’s my prayer life.  Oh, my prayer life.  As I pray, am I constantly making self-centered requests of my Heavenly Father or am I faithfully interceding on behalf of those around me?  Bless ME, God.  Bless ME.

What about you?  How often do you bless others with your words, your actions or your gifts?  Do you spend time in prayer for others?  Do you place the needs of others ahead of your own? Are you seeking opportunities to pour out God’s blessings?  They are placed before us every day.  So what’s it going to be?  When the opportunity arises, what will you say – “Bless you” or “Bless me”?

Leave a Reply

