A Year of Smiles – Day 17

facebook-emoticon-kissing-foreheadReason to SMILE #17: FORGIVENESS

My husband kicks at night.  He hasn’t always.  It’s a fairly recent occurrence and it doesn’t happen every night.  When he does kick or jerk or whatever his legs are doing, it becomes quite annoying.  My husband isn’t bothered by it.  He sleeps like a baby but it keeps me awake quite often.

Falling asleep at night does not come easy for me.  There are times when I can’t turn off my thoughts and I lie awake in bed making plans for church activities, coming up with more reasons to smile 😉 , praying for my boys and so forth.  Finally, after what seems like an eternity, I will begin to drift off to sleep.  Then, whack!  I will get kicked by my husband.

Seriously!  The other night, he actually kicked me!  And every few minutes, he’d do it again.  I tried to be understanding.  I gently pushed his legs further away from me.  It made no difference.  The kicks kept on coming.  I asked him to turn over thinking he would kick the other direction but no!  He began to kick backwards.  Ultimately, I could take it no longer and the loving wife that I try so hard to be disappeared.  When he kicked me again for the umpteenth time, I kicked him back as hard as I could!  It didn’t phase my husband a bit.  It sure made me feel better, though! 😉

Aren’t you glad God isn’t like that?  No matter how many times we mess up or how often we return to the things we shouldn’t be doing, never once will He kick us.  Instead, our ever faithful and loving Heavenly Father will offer us forgiveness.  If that doesn’t make you SMILE, I don’t know what will!

By the way, the day after I kicked my husband, I decided to fess up.  I told him about his legs moving and that he wouldn’t stop kicking me.  He asked me if I had gone to sleep in the living room.  I responded, “No way! I just kicked you back!”  I’ve never heard my husband laugh so hard.

Well, I’m glad my husband got a SMILE out of that ordeal!

1 John 1:9 (NIV) If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Psalm 103:10-13 (NIV)  He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities.  For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.  As a father has compassion on his children, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him.

 

Image provided by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

