A Year of Smiles – Day 30

Reason to SMILE #30: MONDAYS (Really?)cry-baby-emoticon

Mondays, for me, are like mornings.  I’d much rather avoid them.  The problem is I can’t hit the fast forward button and skip over Mondays just like I can’t skip over mornings.  Well, I suppose I could stay in bed and wait til they pass but if I want to keep my job, I really shouldn’t.  So, how can I turn my Mondays into SMILES?  To be honest with you, I’m still working on that one.  Maybe we can figure it out together.  Let’s see…

There’s a song that I learned in elementary school that might help.  It says:

You’ve got to ac-cent-u-ate the positive

E-lim-i-nate the negative

Latch on to the affirmative

Don’t mess with Mister In-Between¹

 

What if I applied this way of thinking to how I view Mondays?  If I focus on the positives of facing another Monday rather than the negatives, I may find myself with a brand new attitude.  So what are the positives of Mondays?  Mondays offer new beginnings (like mornings) – opportunities to start a fresh work week.  Last week’s problems may still be waiting but hopefully we’ve had a weekend of rest and rejuvenation that will allow us to tackle those problems with a new frame of mind.

Mondays also present us with new opportunities to serve others.  We’re surrounded by people who dread Mondays.  Maybe if we look for opportunities to transform another’s Monday into a SMILE, our Monday will be transformed, as well.  I’ve learned that the more SMILES I share, the more my heart is filled joy.  That reminds of the next lines to that childhood song:

You’ve got to spread joy up to the maximum

Bring gloom down to a minimum

 

I can give my Mondays a new purpose – spreading joy to all those around me!  That should most definitely change my perspective!

Are you beginning to find a new outlook on Mondays?  I’m getting there, too.  It really is a matter of perspective, isn’t it?  When we focus on the negative and the gloom, our days are simply going to be dark and dreary.  But when we focus on the positive and look for the blessings and opportunities to bless others, well, Monday may become our favorite day of the week.  (Okay, that might be a stretch – but it will at least be tolerable!)

Still not convinced that you can look forward to Mondays?  That’s okay.  Just keep telling yourself there are only 3 more day til Friday and SMILE anyway!

 

¹Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive by Johnny Mercer

Image by symbol-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

