A Year of Smiles – Day 32

Reason to SMILE #32: TRAINStrain-emoji

Don’t you love to hear the whistle of a train?  I do.  It reminds me of my childhood.  On the way to my grandmother’s house there was a set of railroad tracks which we had to cross.  More times than not, we would get stopped by a train.  And every time this happened, my parents would sing this song:

Little red caboose chug, chug, chug
Little red caboose chug, chug, chug
Little red caboose behind the train
Smoke stack on its
Back, back, back, back
Coming down the
Track, track, track, track
Little red caboose behind the train

I loved it!  I often sang the same song to my children when they were young – at least, when I could remember all of the words.  How could I forget?!?  Now that they are older, they don’t appreciate it as much so I’ve stopped singing it…out loud.  I still sing it to myself every time I’m watching a train pass by and I SMILE.

So, next time you’re in a hurry and you’ve been stopped by a train.  Don’t pick up your phone.  Take the time to remember being a child watching in wonder as each car passed.  Or make some memories with your children.  Play a game, count the cars or sing a song.   Then, when that caboose finally appears (or the last car anyway – I haven’t seen a real caboose in quite a while!), you can resume your journey with a SMILE.

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

