A Year of Smiles – Day 41

peace-fingers-smileyReason to SMILE #41: PEACE

365 reasons to Smile – from day one, I have been determined to share the joys of life, both small and large, with anyone who happens upon this blog in the hopes that my smiles will bring smiles to others.  Who knew it would be such a challenge!  No, no, don’t get me wrong.  My life is filled with reasons to smile.  In the 41 days I have been sharing these smiles, however, I’ve never felt so distracted, overwhelmed, stressed and downhearted.  Something, or someone, doesn’t like these SMILES and is doing his best to keep my focus off the joys in my life.

Today, he almost succeeded.

Have you ever gotten to the point where you just needed a good slap on the back of the head?  That was me today and the slap came in the form of a little, orange card.  It was placed right in front of me in the midst of a “woe is me” session.  Take a look:

orange-card

My eyes fell on #4 – “And the peace of God will guard your heart and mind.”  Ouch!  That was a hefty smack!  But I needed it.

It’s time to stop allowing the enemy to rob me of my peace.  It’s time to quit listening to the lies of Satan.  It’s time to stop believing that my problems are too big or my worries are too great.  It’s time to start taking my cares to my great, big God and letting Him handle them.  It’s time to start enjoying His peace.

“And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7 (ESV)

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33 (ESV)

I don’t have to be distracted by the troubles of this world.  Yes, they will keep on coming my way and Satan will keep on throwing them in my face.  I just have to remind myself that God has already overcome all my troubles and the one who is tossing them my way so I can focus on the SMILES knowing that I am protected by God’s perfect peace!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

