A Year of Smiles -Day 42

SQUIRRELS (Sometimes the craziest things can make me not-quite-right-in-head-smileySMILE!)

There he was on the side of the road.  I was headed his direction and I knew he was going to bolt out in front of me.  Sure enough, that’s exactly what he did.  This little squirrel pounced into the road and began leaping toward the other side.  Suddenly, he realized my car was approaching and I guess he freaked out.  The poor little guy didn’t know what to do.  He had only made it halfway across the road and he couldn’t decide whether to continue running to the opposite side or to turn back.  He kept turning one way and then the other. Back and forth his little body jumped til I thought he was going to keel over from exhaustion.  Finally after 6 or 7 spins, the squirrel decided to go back to where he began.  It was hilarious and I couldn’t help but laugh.

Hmmm.  I wonder if God looks at us like that.  I can just imagine God elbowing Jesus and pointing at us.  “Look! Look!” He’d say, “There goes another one jumping into something she didn’t come to me about first.”  Or, “He really didn’t think that through. I wonder how long it will take Him to realize He can’t handle this on his own and come back to Me.”  Maybe He’d slap His knee and chuckle, “Watch her spin!  She doesn’t know what to do next.  Oh, she’s going that way.  No. She’s going the other way.  She must be dizzy by now.”

I’m so thankful that my God is nothing like that!  He is a patient, loving and forgiving God.  He does not find joy in our mistakes.  He patiently waits for our return after we’ve run in the wrong direction thinking we can live this life on our own.  And when we’ve been flattened by the consequences of our choices and cry out to God for help, He scoops us up with loving arms and forgives.  That’s my God.

Okay. So God definitely does not see us as squirrels.  The Bible does, however, compare us to sheep……… 😉

SMILE!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

