A Year of Smiles – Day 52

wink-facebook-smileyReason to SMILE #52: A WINK 😉

“Excuse me, ma’am.”

I looked up from the gas pump and saw a young man dressed in jeans, a hoodie and a ball cap.  He seemed harmless but I was still a bit uneasy when I responded with a timid,” Yes?”.

“I noticed that your headlights are cloudy.” Thus began his sales pitch.

Where is my husband when I need him? I thought to myself as the young man motioned for me to walk to the front of my car to take a look at the cloudy headlights.  I already knew how the lights looked but I obliged.  Thinking I would cut his sales pitch short, I informed the guy that my husband works on cars and could easily clean the headlights himself.  “Oh no,” the young man insisted. “Your husband cannot purchase this product from the auto parts stores.”

This smooth talker quickly proceeded to pull a silver spray can bearing no label from his back pocket and began spraying something onto one of my car’s headlights.  As he wiped the light with a cloth leaving behind a crystal clear lens, he continued his pitch by telling me that he worked at the dealership down the road.  “The dealership charges $80 per headlight to do this,” he said.  “I’ll finish this job and clean your other headlight for just $40.”

At this point, there were so many things going through my mind.  What the heck did you spray on my car?  What makes you think you can just spray something on my car without my permission?  Does the dealership know you stole their product?  What if I called the dealership to confirm your employment?  I wasn’t sure what to do but I had no money on me.  I politely declined the offer.  He reduced his price and got a little pushy with me.  I firmly declined and he moved on to his next “customer”.

In all honesty, if I had had the cash, I would’ve let the guy finish the job.  However, my pockets were empty that day so I was left with one clear headlight and one cloudy headlight. It turns out not to be such a bad thing, though, because now my car looks like it’s winking!  Oh, the power…

A wink can make the heart flutter.  It can cause an outsider to feel included and the lonely to feel accepted.  A wink can punctuate one’s affection and signal a moment of jest.  A wink can even trigger a SMILE.  A wink – a tiny movement with such great power and I now have that power in my car!  So, watch out, folks.  I’m coming at you with a wink and a SMILE!

 

Leave a Reply

