A Year of Smiles – Day 78

sunny-smiley-for-facebookReason to SMILE #78: SUNSETS

There’s just something about a sunset that brings peace to a troubled soul.

After a long and wearisome day like today… Actually, after a long and wearisome week, it feels as if peace is doing all it can to elude me.  Uncertainty and doubt have become my closest friends but peace…

As I was driving home from church, however, I was reminded that true peace is never that far out of reach.  I looked into my rearview mirror to check for traffic but instead, found the most beautiful of sunsets.  My first thoughts were of how awesome the Creator of this Universe is and how amazing His use of colors.  Then, as I continued to glance through the mirror, I couldn’t help but be overwhelmed by the presence and peace of God.  It was as if that sunset was created only for me as a reminder that the One who controls the Sun can most certainly handle my troubles.  Peace.  There you are!

Yes, there’s something about the majesty of a sunset that brings a sense of tranquility to the most troubled of souls.  There’s also something about knowing God is control that brings a SMILE to the face of the one willing to trade their problems for the Peace of God.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.
And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com
Leave a Reply

