A Year of Smiles – Day 89

Reason to SMILE #89: ACKNOWLEDGMENT

“Yay me!”

I actually shouted this today.  It doesn’t happen often.  But today I couldn’t help myself.  I was challenged with a huge and confusing task that could not be completed in the usual methods.  So, I laid it all out; wrapped my head around it; did the hard work and Bam! I got it done.  I was proud of myself but that didn’t prompt my celebratory outburst.emoticon-clapping-hands

No, it was actually the praise of another who previously looked at the job and shook her head in confusion and disbelief.  She just knew that it was going to be a big mess.  But when it was all said and done and everything worked out perfectly, she complimented me in amazement.  Then.  Yes, right then was when I yelled, “Yay me!”

Isn’t it a wonderful feeling to know that you are good at something or that you’ve done a great job?  Isn’t it satisfying to be able to say, “I’ve got this” when presented with a challenge knowing you’re not just blowing smoke?  Oh, but when your skills are acknowledged and praised by others, especially your peers or co-workers, now that is a SMILE worth celebrating.

Now that I think about it, a self-praising cheer may not have been the best way to respond to the recognition of my job well done but I did good and I think I’ll say it again.  YAY ME!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

 

Leave a Reply

