A Year of Smiles – Day 103

Reason to SMILE #103: GARDENS

Gardening is not my thing.  In fact, if you ever want to kill a smiley-with-flower-bouquetplant, I’m your girl.  I just have a knack for snuffing out plant life.  (I’m pretty good at killing microwaves, too, but that’s a story for another time!)  Once, I was given a Wandering Jew Plant.  “This plant can survive anything,” I was told.  “You can’t kill it.”  Guess what?  I can!  (I never have liked being told I can’t do something. 😉 )

Despite my touch of death, I do enjoy visiting and walking through beautiful gardens.  The colors of the flowers and other plant life are mesmerizing and the fragrances are heavenly.  Strolling through the paths of a garden has a calming effect and if I could actually grow something, I would love to create a spot in my back yard where I could sit, think, pray and write while I gaze at God’s beautiful handiwork.  Oh, the SMILES of serenity that garden would bring!

I wonder if that is why Jesus chose a garden in which to pray.  The scriptures tell us that He often went to a garden to talk to the Heavenly Father.  Was it the beautiful colors that drew Him in?  Was it the fragrant symphony that wafted through the air?  Or was it the peaceful solitude that called to Jesus and provided a place for our Savior to pray freely and earnestly to His Father?

“My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me.  Yet not as I will, but as You will.” (Matthew 26:39 NIV)

Before Easter Sunday arrives, find some time to walk through a beautiful garden.  Enjoy the breathtaking views and uplifting aromas.  And as you SMILE at God’s amazing creation, take a few moments to talk with Him and thank Him for the gift of salvation given freely to each one of us through the life, death and resurrection of His son, Jesus Christ.

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

 

Leave a Reply

