A Year of Smiles – Day 114

Reason to SMILE #114: CHICKENS

Right now, I know you must be thinking, “She’s either running out of reasons to smile or she’s crazy.”  Nope!  The SMILES are countless and craziness is subjective.

Today has just been one of those maddening Mondays.  It began with the lingering effects of yesterday’s burdens.  The devil has been doing his best to discourage me by spotlighting my weaknesses and telling me I’m not good enough to serve in the place God has called me.  It’s wearisome.

As the day continued, I found myself bearing the disheartening burden of one of my boys.  Being a mom is the toughest job I have.  And its another area where the devil can sneak in and whisper lies about my capabilities.  The devil really is annoying!

Then, as my day was ending, my shoulders were further loaded by a burden of my husband.  I am his helpmate.  This is what we do for each other but as I hung up from speaking with him, I just felt overwhelmed.  My little, bity shoulders can only carry so much, you know!  At least that’s how I felt at the time.

But God is always there to lighten the load that I bear.  As I pulled into my subdivision on the way home, I rounded a corner and there were my burden lifters – chickens!  As my eyes discovered each one, my SMILE grew and my shoulders relaxed as the day’s burdens seemed to disappear.rooster-facebook-sticker

One chicken – there went the worries for my husband.

Two chickens – there went the concerns for my son.

Three chickens – there went the lies Satan has been whispering in my ear.

I guess this does sound a little crazy but God can use anything to turn our worries and burdens into Joy and dancing.  We just have to be willing to let the care of this life go.  When we do, we can SMILE at silly little things like chickens bobbing their little chicken heads and roaming free all over the neighborhood.

Chickens – who knew they could cause such SMILES?

 

Psalm 55:22 (NIV) Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken.

Matthew 11: 28 – 30 (NIV) Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

