A Year of Smiles – Day 128

whatever-facebook-smileyReason to SMILE #128: GROCERY SHOPPING

Of all the chores on my “To Do” list, one of the last to be checked off is going to the grocery store.  I don’t like doing it and I’ll put it off til the only things in our cabinets are stale chips and Pop-Tarts® that no one likes.  My boys are constantly saying, “Mo-om, there’s nothing to eat.”  (Funny how my name  gains a syllable when the whining starts.)

“Have some chips,” I say while opening the bag and popping a chip in my mouth. “These are still fre-”

Then spitting the chips out of my mouth as fast as I put them in, I concede, “OK. It’s time to get groceries.”

Because I live in a house with three males, the cabinets rarely stay full and though I try to make shopping trips less frequent, I end up visiting the grocery store once a week.  Sometimes I’m lucky and I can delegate the task to someone else.  Oh, how I love those times!  Other times, I can convince my husband to go with me.  This can be a blessing or a curse depending on how hungry he is.  There are other times, though, when I don’t mind grocery shopping, at all.  These are the times my older son shops with me.

Grocery shopping seems less like a chore when my older son tags along.  We get a chance to talk about topics that are on his mind.  We laugh about things that only he and I would find funny.  We even plan meals that we’d like to try.  But mostly, I get to listen.  I get to find out what’s going on in that head of his.  I get to enjoy his enthusiasm for his passions in life.  I get to feed off of his excitement over new opportunities and experiences.  And I get to SMILE – even in the grocery store.

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

