A Year of Smiles – Day 129

Reason to SMILE #129: SISTERS

Three boys – my mom already had three boys and was pregnantsmiling-pink-smiley with her fourth child.  She just knew this baby would be a boy, too.  There was still a chance for a girl, though, because she and my dad, feeling prompted by God, had already begun the adoption process.  Soon a six year old girl became a part of the family – all the way from Korea.

Then, surprise!  Congratulations, mom.  You’ve got a healthy baby girl!  I decided to join the crowd.  From that point on, I was not just my mom’s baby.  I was my older sister’s baby.  She rocked me, pampered me, fed me and she’d even sing Korean lullabies to me. Life was good.  As I grew, I always had someone taking care of me.  I never had to lift a finger or ask for anything.  My sister did everything for me and gave me all I needed – I didn’t even have to ask.

At age seven, I remember wanting a baby sister of my own.  Fortunately, God had a little girl in mind that would make the perfect little sister.  Mom and Dad thought so, too, and my younger sister, at almost two years old, evened out the sibling playing field.  Watch out, big brothers!

My little sister, or I should say “younger” because she is taller than me, was such a joy that my parents decided to make that her middle name.  She was full of life, bubbly and full of spunk.  We never knew what this little girl would do or say.  She kept everyone hopping and she kept everyone laughing.  She’s still that way today.

I don’t know what I would do without my two sisters.  I can’t even imagine what life would be like if God had not decided to bring these two remarkable people into my family.  I’m sure of one thing, though.  Without my sisters, I would have a lot less SMILES!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

