A Year of Smiles – Day 132

Reason to SMILE #132: MOM MOMENTS

Mountain Dew® – I found it on the grocery list this week.big-smile-fb-emoticon

“Who asked for Mountain Dew?” I wondered but I had a feeling I already knew.

It was my younger son, my middle schooler.  This is the child who up until last year would not touch soda of any kind and here he was asking for Mountain Dew, the worst soda of all!  (Of course, that’s just my opinion.  I apologize to those of you who love the stuff.)

I took my grocery list to the store and checked off every item – except Mountain Dew.  I was not going to be an enabler of his bad habits!  After helping me carry the groceries into the house, my son looked around the kitchen.

“Did you get Mountain Dew?” he inquired.

“No,” I answered.  “You don’t need it.”

“But it helps me wake up in the mornings,” he whined as he was trying to establish a true “need” for the drink.

“First of all, you need to go to sleep earlier,” I began my retort.  “Secondly, you can just drink some of my coffee if you really can’t wake up.”

Of course, my only reason for suggesting coffee was my certainty that he would turn up his nose at the idea.  But seconds after I proposed the alternative, I panicked.  What if he takes me up on this deal?  Here I am being an enabler. What am I thinking?  Quickly, I added a restriction to my offer.

“You can only have a couple of swallows of the coffee, though, because too much will stunt your growth.”  Whew!  Nice save, mom.  I’m sure that will scare him.

His response, however, did not reinforce my belief that I had successfully conquered this parenting moment.  In fact, as I heard him quip the following question, I was reminded of another bad habit that I have been enabling all of his life:

“Is that what happened to you?”

You little smart aleck!

I just love these moments! (Yep, there’s that sarcasm my son learned so well!)  But no matter if these parenting moments are considered a success or an utter failure, there’s nothing that compares to being a mom.  As far as I’m concerned, if the only bad habit my kid learns from me is being a smart aleck, well, I’m doing pretty good… I think.

Mom moments – good or bad – are hands down the most gratifying SMILES of all!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

