A Year of Smiles – Day 134

Reason to SMILE #134: BEING A MOM


Top ten things I’ve learned from being a mom:

10. First steps, first time sitting up, first time on the potty, first birthday, first Christmas, first bike ride, first day of school, first good grade, first bad grade, first homerun, first real friend, first night away from home, first movie, first girlfriend, first date, first car, first dance, first day of college – your child’s life is filled with firsts. You don’t want to miss any of them. Take lots and lots of pictures. Then post them all over social media and embarrass the heck out of them! That’s one of the great joys of motherhood.

9. For the first 10 or so years of your child’s life, there is only one determining factor in choosing restaurants – the toy that is being offered in said restaurant’s kid’s meal. And here’s a side note to all the fast food joints out there: if you’ve run out of toys and you fail to tell the mom who is ordering the meal at the drive thru speaker, don’t be offended when she refuses the meal at the window and drives away. Remember, you’re not the one who has to go home with her kids!

8. There is a black hole somewhere in every household that sucks up socks, shoes, earbuds, phone chargers and remote controls.  If only I could create some sort of device to detect these black holes, I’d be the richest mom on the planet!

7. When asking your kids to go search for all those missing items, detailed instructions on how to search must be given. Failure to give a step-by-step guide on what is required in a thorough search for a missing shoe results in the child walking to their bedroom door, glancing in for a moment and returning to you with a bewildered look while saying, “I can’t find it anywhere.”

6. “Because I said so” is a perfectly valid argument for the question “Why?”. Further, when your child refuses to give in and answers your argument again with “But why?”, your trump card will forever be, “Because I’m the mom, that’s why!”

5. Regardless of your resolve and any promise you ever made to yourself, you will at some point find yourself making awful sounds like “aahnn!” when you see your child reaching for the scissors or hot stove or attempting anything he or she shouldn’t be doing.  After all, there is no better deterrent for bad behavior than sounding like a angry mother goose!

4. The words “I need” are code for “I know I can live without it but I really, really want it so I’m gonna bat my lashes, poke out my bottom lip and tell you I need it and pray extremely hard that you believe me even though it hasn’t worked the other 147 times I’ve tried it before.”  Too bad, kid, I tried that one with my parents. Didn’t work with them either!

3. Hearing my own words spoken or seeing my own action emulated by my child can be either a blessing or a curse. They’re always watching and listening – even when you think they’re not! Those little boogers!

2. Although my job is to raise independent and responsible young men, actually letting them go out into the world and prove I’ve done that job is the most difficult thing for me (and probably any mom) to do. They’re still my babies!

1. Of the many things I’ve learned and am still learning from being a mom, the most important thing is that no matter how hard I try, I can never hold a candle to my mom. She’s the best mom around and I’m thankful God made her mine!

I love you, Mom!

And to all you moms out there, keep SMILING!  We’re all in this thing together!!  Happy Mother’s Day!

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

