A Year of Smiles – Day 135

Reason to SMILE #135: LULLABIES

“Mom, I’m not tired,” said my younger son. “Will you sing me a nighty-night-emoticonlullaby? But sing it quiet, I don’t want brother to hear.”

What mom can resist a request to sing her little boy to sleep? Besides, this meant he’d be asleep in no time at all…..

Rock-a-bye baby-

“Shhh, Mom! Quieter!”

On the tree top-

“I’m thirsty”.

“Ok, baby, let’s go get a drink.”

<Out of bed and into the kitchen. Grab a drink; back to bed. Then, we sit until every last drop is slurped from the cup…slurp…slurp…>

“Are you done?”

“Wait. Almost.” <Slurp> “Okay.”

When the wind blows-

“Baby, you have to close your eyes.”

“I’m trying!”

The cradle will rock-

“Mom, I have to tell you something.”

“Ok, what is it?”

“My friend says he’s gonna beat me up.”

“That doesn’t sound like a very good friend; maybe you should stay away from him.”

“Don’t worry. I am!”

When the bow breaks-

“Mom, I want to stretch out my legs, can you move?”

“You are getting way too tall.”

“I AM allowed to grow, Mom!”

“Okay. Go to sleep now.”

The cradle will fall-

“Can I have a hug?”

” Of course.”

<Hug, hug. Kiss, kiss. Nibble, nibble.>

“Mom! My ear is not food!”

And down will come baby-

“Be still and close your eyes.”

“Ok, ok!”

Cradle-

<Yaaaawn!>

<Yawn!>

And all.

<Zzzzzzzzzzzz>

 

Exhausting as it was, I miss the days I could sing lullabies to my babies.  But remembering those days always makes me SMILE!

You know, it would really be nice to have a lullaby sung to me every now and then.  It’s too bad my husband can’t sing! 😉

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

 

Leave a Reply

