A Year of Smiles – Day 145

Reason to SMILE #145: CASSETTE TAPES

“You need a new car,” my husband declared.

“Nope.” I replied. “I’m going to drive this one til it dies.”

My husband, rubbing his hand across his face in an attempt to muffle a blatant threat, muttered, “I may just have to hurry it up a little.”

How dare he! I love my car. It’s the perfect fit for me. I can slide right into the driver’s seat without stepping up or feeling like I’m falling down. There’s plenty of room for me and all my junk. I can almost reach the top of the back hatch when it’s open without standing on my tip toes – almost. And the best thing about my cute, little car is it has a cassette player. What more could anyone ask for in a car? 😉

Yes. I still have cassette tapes. Don’t laugh! I know we live in a day and age of satellite radio that offers every type of music imaginable. And I know I could have the music on my cassettes copied to CDs or even converted to MP3 files but I just don’t see the point. I have a cassette player. Why fool with all that other stuff?

One day, and I’m afraid it will be sooner than I think (if my husband has anything to do with it), I will need to purchase a new car. The car I find will most likely not have a cassette player. It probably won’t have a CD player, either. But until that day, I am going to enjoy playing my cassette tapes in my car. I’m going to kick up the volume, sing at the top of my lungs and yes, my friends, I am going to SMILE! 

At least until the music starts sounding wonky and I have to take out the tape and bang it on the dashboard a few times!! 

Leave a Reply

