A Year of Smiles – Day 151

Reason to SMILE #151: PRAYER

How often do you pray?  I find myself praying all the time.praying-hands-emoticon

“Lord, help me make it through this day.”

“Lord, please keep so-and-so safe.”

“Heal so-and-so quickly, Lord.”

“Thank you for all your blessings, Lord.”

“Ok, Lord, give me strength ’cause these kids are killin’ me!” 😉

The day to day conversations with God come pretty easy.  It’s like chatting with a friend or co-worker.  There’s merit to those little prayer snippets but I’m not sure this is truly what prayer is meant to be.

When was the last time you actually got down on your knees and spent hours in prayer with the Heavenly Father praising him for His blessings, casting your burdens at His feet, asking forgiveness for your transgressions and listening for His still, small voice to speak to your soul?  Now that doesn’t come so easy – at least not for me.  Often, I set out to spend time with God but weariness or busyness interrupts.   Oh, how it must make God feel when I can’t even make time to sit and talk with Him.

Right about now, you’re probably thinking that this doesn’t sound much like a SMILE.  Maybe not yet but hang on, folks.  I’m getting there.

I may not be the prayer warrior that I should be (God’s still working on me!) but I know without a doubt that there are mighty prayer warriors out there praying for me.  How do I know?  Because there’s no way I could have made it through some of the things I’ve been through without the prayers of loving friends and family.  And when I have a need, those prayer warriors – my mom, my dad, my pastor, my best friend, my church family – are there to pray me through whatever I am facing.  Now, to me, that’s worth a hundred SMILES and so much more!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

