A Year of Smiles – Day 152

female-31090_640Reason to SMILE #152: GRAY HAIR

Gray hair is a crown of splendor;
it is attained in the way of righteousness.

Proverbs 16:31 (NIV)  

Boy, oh boy, is my crown ever beginning to sparkle!  I’m only fo-  I mean, I’m not that old!  But each day that I look in the mirror, I see those streaks of gray where reddish-brown used to gleam.  Sigh.

I’ve made my peace with it, though.  I’ve decided that either I’m becoming a mutant and will soon be discovering some awesome mutant powers or I’m becoming a woman of maturity whose life is marked with wisdom and distinction.  I’m good with either one. 😉

Seriously, as I inspect my rapidly changing hair color, I find myself quite satisfied with the gray.  Its presence is proof of my steadfastness and strength and it is a testament to all that I have experienced, enjoyed, endured and overcome on my life’s journey.  I have earned every single gray strand!

Are you worried about going gray?  Don’t be!  It’s your crown of splendor.  And who doesn’t love a crown?

Smile!  Your splendor is showing! 😉

Leave a Reply

