A Year of Smiles – Day 157

Reason to SMILE #157: TACO SALAD

4:29 PM.  I’m preparing for the third night of Vacation Bible School at my church.  I have an hour before the night begins so I’m pretty busy.  My phone whistles.  “On no!” I think. “Please don’t let it be someone who can’t make it.”

I pick up my phone and am pleasantly surprised to see that it’s my older son who is currently away for the summer interning at a church in North Georgia.  He has this question for me:

text 1Several things begin to run through my mind:

What a horrible mom I am for sending my kid off on his own without teaching him how to cook!

How am I supposed to get everything I need to do done in the little time I have and teach my kid how to cook at the same time?

And how in the world am I supposed to teach this kid to cook via text message?

Over the next few minutes, my son and I text back and forth while I go about prepping for VBS Night Three.  From how much meat is needed to browning the meat to heating up the black beans, I give the instructions as succinctly as I can and I say a quick prayer for safety.  Lord, please don’t let him burn down the Youth Minister’s house!

6:59 PM.  VBS was running smoothly.  I decide to find out how the cooking went.  So, I send my son another text:

text 2    taxo salad

He did good!  He made his momma SMILE.

I may have been busy when that text was sent to me this afternoon but it made no difference.  My son needed me and I was going to do everything I could to help – even if it meant giving a cooking lesson by text!

Leave a Reply

