A Year of Smiles – Day 159

Reason to SMILE #159: GOD’S HELP

“I have a headache,” my husband complained.

“I have ibuprofen if you need it,” I offered.

My husband gave no response.

Several minutes later, my husband complained again, “I don’t know why I’m getting a headache!”

“I told you that I have ibuprofen,” I reminded.

“Nah. I’ll be fine.”

Men. They have to tough things out. They’re not going to accept help, either. I’m not sure why. Maybe they’re trying to prove how strong they are. Maybe they’re trying to impress women with their masculinity. I’ve got news for you men. Women think you’re crazy for trying to tough out sicknesses or for refusing help when it’s obviously needed. We role our eyes, sit back and wait for you to succumb to the realization that you are not Superman.  And yes, that realization always arrives – most times later than sooner!

But isn’t that like us all when it comes to our spiritual battles. We try to tough out life’s difficulties on our own when help is just a prayer away. God continuously reminds us through His Word and that still, small voice that He is our help, our rescue, our support. Still, we ignore the offer and trudge through our problems, usually causing ourselves greater strife and heartache. 

I wonder if God sits back and rolls his eyes at our stubbornness. No, our God never looks forward to the “I told you so” moments. He loves us too much for that. He patiently offers his help, waiting for us to come to the realization that we can’t live this life on our own. But…

… we don’t always come to that realization.

I’m so thankful God did not leave me to navigate life alone. I may not always accept His help as soon as I should but knowing He’s there when I finally come to my senses always makes me SMILE.

Leave a Reply

