A Year of Smiles – Day 180

Reason to SMILE #180 – HAVING THE WHOLE BED TO YOURSELF

Having someone to spend my life with is amazing.  I always have someone with whom I can talk, laugh and share my hopes and dreams for the future.  I have an encourager when I’m down.  I have a partner in raising our children, maintaining a household and pretty much everything else.  I have someone who accepts me just the way I am.  I have a protector, a provider, a friend, a sweetheart, a supporter, a mender of all things broken and…

… a BED HOG!  This man to whom I am married does not understand the concept of sharing a bed.  There are two of us.  We each have a side.  Sure, he’s a bigger person than I am but that has no bearing on how the bed is divided.  Right down the middle.  Evenly. No more. No less.  But I always find myself on the edge of the bed hanging on for dear life and grasping at the edges of the blankets for warmth while he is sprawled out in the middle of the bed snoozing away.  Until…his alarm goes off.

At that point, he awakens, turns over toward me and sweetly and confusingly asks, “Why are you sleeping so close to the edge of the bed?”  Because I wasn’t strong enough to push you out of the bed, that’s why!

But I hold my tongue for in a few short moments when my husband gets out of bed to ready himself for the day, I will be able to stretch out in the middle of our sleep-emoticonnice, warm bed and cover my entire body with ALL of the blanket.  I will have the whole bed to myself.  Ahhhhh!

And I bet if you were to catch a peek of me in those few moments of blissful rest before my alarm calls out for me to begin my day, you’d see me sleeping with a huge SMILE on my face!

P.S. No matter how much of a bed hog my husband may be, I SMILE every night knowing he’s by my side.  I just need to figure out how to set his alarm to go off a little earlier each morning!  Hehe!

 

Image by symbols-n-emoticons.com

Leave a Reply

