A Year of Smiles – Day 188

Reason to SMILE #188: CURIOSITY

“What’s that?”

“Where does that go?”

“What’s in there?”

“Can I hold it?”

“Why do you have toys?”

“I’m hungry. Do you have any food?”

A five-year-old little boy came to visit my office. It’s always interesting when little ones come into our quiet office building but we keep toys in a small chest for such an occasion. Since it was almost quitting time, I decided to take a break and play cars with the little boy. After all, I had worked non-stop all day and… There was a kid in the building. I had to talk to him. I am a children’s minister on the side. 😉  (That sounds funny! I have two jobs: a full time admin. job and a part time children’s ministry job.) Anyway.

The little boy and I talked about all the cars and toys until I thought his parents were ready to leave. We had a contest to see who could put away the toys the fastest. And then we waited and waited and waited. His parents kept talking and talking and talking (That was partly my boss’s fault – he loves to to talk!). It was too much for the little boy to take. He could wait no longer so he began to explore the building. Time to curb that curiosity. “Let’s go on a tour,” I said.

We walked through the entire building from office to office. We had to open every door, every closet, every cabinet and every drawer. Now, our office building is actually an old house that used to be a parsonage for a local church. It was built in 1928 and has beautiful wood floors, high ceilings, transoms in every room and doors connecting everything. It’s a pretty interesting place – very interesting to a five-year-old boy.

Of all the cool features in the building, this little boy was most interested in the fireplaces. They have long since been closed up and covered but the actual fireplace structure is still there. The opening is covered with an ornate tin (I believe) panel. There is a knob at the top of each panel and the boy was determined to get one of these panels open. Fortunately, they are tightly sealed. After many failed attempts, he finally asked me, “Can you open it?”

“Nope,” I responded. “We have to keep it closed.”

“Why? What’s in there?” he continued his questions. I could see the little wheels of his imagination turning.

“We can’t open it because we don’t know what’s in there. We don’t want anything coming out!” I playfully explained.

The little boy’s face beamed with excitement as a mischievous grin grew on his face. He slowly released the knob on the fireplace covering and stepped back. I could tell that he wasn’t quite sure if I was pulling his leg and a bit of fear was setting in. However, from the gleam grower stronger in his eyes, there was no doubt in my mind that this little boy’s curiosity was about to stomp out any inkling of fear growing inside.

“Hey!  Let’s go find your mom!”

Curiosity – it may have caused many a little boy a whole lot of trouble but I can’t help but SMILE when I see those mischievous grins!

Leave a Reply

