A Year of Smiles – Day 223

Reason to SMILE #223: THE HAPPINESS OF OTHERS

Do any of you ever post things on your favorite social media site then constantly check to see how many likes you have or if anyone has commented? 

Any of you? 

Ever?

No? 

Yeah, me neither. 

Uhm, excuse me a moment. I need to go check something. 😉

While I was randomly scrolling through Facebook today – I wasn’t checking on yesterday’s blog post or anything like that! – I came across one of those friendship videos that an old college friend shared. I paused my scrolling long enough to watch the slide show of pictures from his life, pictures of his wife and child, vacation fun and other memories that I’m sure meant very much to him. Each picture showed my friend and his family smiling and truly enjoying their lives together. And by time the little video had reached its end, I realized I was smiling, too. It was nice to see my friend’s joy. I couldn’t help but SMILE!

You know, this whole being part of the human race thing really does have its perks. We have each other to walk with through life, to help carry our burdens, to cry with. We also have each other to share in our joys, to celebrate our triumphs, to have fun together and to help us find a SMILE.

You see, it’s all part of God’s design. I have no doubt that you and I were made to make each other SMILE!

Romans 12:15 (NIV) Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.

1 Corinthians 12:26-27 (NIV) If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.

Leave a Reply

