Here’s A Quarter

Have you ever had one of those mornings when nothing goes the way it is supposed to go? Well, that was my morning today. From being awakened at 5:30 AM (Are you kidding me?) by the phone alarm of someone who shall not be named (but he sleeps in the same bed with me) to spilling coffee all over my bedroom floor, my morning was just not going like I desired.

As I was sopping up coffee from the carpet, I was grumbling and complaining to myself and wondering what was going to happen next. Then, I came across a quarter lying on the floor and you’ll never guess what popped into this brain of mine. As soon as I picked up the quarter, an old country song started running through my head. Oh, yeah, you know the one. It goes something like, “Here’s a quarter – call someone who cares.” Really?

It’s funny what God uses to speak to His people. This morning He spoke to me through a silly song and boy, did I ever get the message! No matter how many things were going wrong for me this morning, complaining about it all wasn’t making it any better. What if, instead of grumbling, I had decided to praise God? For what? Well, for starters, I could have thanked him for that man who sleeps next to me every night – even though he set his alarm for an ungodly hour of the morning! I could have thanked Him for the coffee I had to drink. After all, it could have been worse. I could have been out of coffee altogether and man, what a morning that would have been! You see, my attitude could have made a huge difference in my morning.

That quarter and that country song also reminded me that I do have someone who cares for me and wants me to “give Him a call” – even when all I want to do is complain. God loves me. He sent His Son to die for me so I can have that connection with Him, so I can fellowship with Him. He wants me to tell Him my worries, my sorrows and my troubles. He wants me to give my burdens to Him so I can be free to glorify His name, to praise Him and to serve Him. He is my “someone who cares” and when I need Him, I only have to call out His name. No quarter required!

Are you burdened today? Do you feel like your days are filled with complaints and grumblings? There is someone who cares for you and He is waiting for your call.

Psalm 55:22 (NIV) Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.

Psalm 94:19 (HCSB) When I am filled with cares, Your comfort brings me joy.

Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV) Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Romans 5:6-8 (ESV) For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die – but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 4:25-5:2 (CEV) God gave Jesus to die for our sins, and he raised him to life, so that we would be made acceptable to God. By faith we have been made acceptable to God. And now, because of our Lord Jesus Christ, we live at peace with God. Christ has also introduced us to God’s undeserved kindness on which we take our stand. So we are happy, as we look forward to sharing in the glory of God.

Psalm 103:2 (NLT) Let all that I am praise the LORD; may I never forget the good things he does for me.

Psalm 118:1 (ESV) Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!

One thought on “Here’s A Quarter

Leave a Reply

