A Year of Smiles – Day 59

Reason to SMILE #59: ANNIVERSARIES

I was sitting at the computer waiting for the internet to connect.  (Remember the dial up days?)  As the screen loaded, the first thing I saw was the date.  GASP!  I can’t believe it, I thought to myself.  My wedding anniversary was two days ago.  Did I really forget?  Yes, I did.  I felt horrible until I realized that I wasn’t the only one who had forgotten.  My husband did, too!  That made me feel better – at least, a little.

At that time, we had only been married for three or four years so you’d think it would have been fresh on our minds.  We did have a toddler, though, so maybe that had something to do with our forgetfulness.  The fact is we just flat out forgot.  It hasn’t happened since – at least for me.  Now, as for my husband,… I think it would be best if I didn’t finish that sentence. 😉

Nineteen years ago, my husband and I said, “I do”.  Each year we look back and reflect onwedding-smileys how we have changed and how our love has grown.  Things haven’t always been easy.  We’ve made it through some rough times and we know there will probably be more.  But each day, we continue to promise “I do” and that is a promise that always comes with a SMILE – maybe a few tears, too, but always a SMILE!

Leave a Reply

